Still sad about The Weekender (2)

I meant to write this blog two weeks ago, but between life, work and feeling sorry for myself at the loss of The Weekender (which no longer even has a web presence, so I can’t link to the archive, so read Peter Bruce’s last piece on it), it has taken me this long to get down to it.

It has been three weeks since The Weekender appeared on a Saturday. I had looked forward to this paper every weekend. I am a great fan of weeklies, even though I know I should be more thorough in my reading of the dailies. The truth is that I scan a few dailies, depending on which ones are available in the province I find myself in on any given day. Most of the time I am in Gauteng, so no prize for guessing which rags I read more regularly than most.

Each weekend, I pour over my newspapers and read the most interesting bits. I read only the odd item in the Sports and Business sections, and I flip through the magazine supplements where these exist, although I used to read City Pulse cover to cover when Gail Smith was at its helm.

But back to The Weekender, then. This paper had become my firm favourite in its coverage of politics and the creative arts in intelligent and engaging ways. The writing was so good, I read 98% of the paper most weekends.

Its closing has led to quite a bit of talk, some of which I have absolutely no time for. But here are some interesting bits:

Issa Sikiti da Silva had this to say about why the paper really had to close, with a few smart experts also throwing in their two cents’ worth.

Justice Malala had an additional thing or two to say about why the paper’s closing is sad for more than its staff and regular readers.

And finally, this is what some readers shared about the demise of the paper:

Jenny Crys-Williams

Paul O’Riordan

Sizwe Majola

Geoff Cohen

… and many, many more.

I will miss it, and Rehana Rossouw deserves the warmest congratulations for running an outstanding paper as well as for penning a weekly column that I could not wait to read every Saturday. I will miss Ms Rossouw’s wit, humour and wordsmith magic and am hoping that there is a book coming out of her very soon, to temporarily soothe the ache of not having her as a regular voice.

Posted on 28 November 2009, in long weekends, things that suck and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

